Tana Collins

Full length Profile Picture 2017

Tana Collins is an Amazon Top 10 bestselling author with her Inspector Jim Carruthers series set in the picturesque East Neuk of Fife.

She is also a crime writing tutor. If you are interested in her four week beginners crime writing course or the more advanced crime writing course you can find further details and costs under the News and Events section. She also offers help putting together a submission package to agents and publishers.

The first five books in the Jim Carruthers series have garnered legions of fans, selling copies in excess of 100,000 worldwide and receiving critical acclaim along the way.

She was born in Yorkshire but grew up in rural East Sussex where she spent most of her childhood running around in woods creating stories and having adventures. She did a BA at the Polytechnic of North London before moving to Canada to do a Masters in Philosophy. In 1991 she moved to St Andrews where she did an MPhil in Logic and Metaphysics. In 1996 she moved to Edinburgh which is where she still lives.

Her debut novel, Robbing the Dead, set in fictional Castletown in Fife, was published on 14th February 2017 and became an Amazon No 1 Bestseller for Scottish Crime Fiction. The follow up in the series, Care to Die, was published 1st June 2017 and became a top ten bestseller. Mark of the Devil, the third in the series was released in 2018 and the fourth, Dark is the Day, was published in 2019. The fifth, In Deep Water, set on the beautiful Isle of May, was published 24th August 2020.

‘A finely plotted mystery. Tana Collins racks up the suspense on this one. DI Jim Carruthers is a cop to watch’ Peter Robinson 

‘A cracking read. The suspense never lets up’ Leigh Russell

‘A police procedural that delights the reader with a strong sense of place. Tartan Noir at its best’ Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

‘Skilfully plotted with a cast of convincing characters who have real depth. A superb debut’ Alison Tailor Baillie, author of Sewing the Shadows.

An escalating series of chilling incidents. Widespread public panic. All hell is breaking loose. The price to make it all stop brings DI Donna Davenport to breaking point. Book 3 in the series. Coming soon (1)

2 thoughts on “Tana Collins

  1. Normally I am a 1 book a month reader, but I finish all 5 of Tana’s book in 2 weeks. Can’t wait for the next book.


    1. Thank you so much for your comment. I really appreciate it. It’s lovely to get positive feedback. Inspector Jim Carruthers is going to be taking a short break while I focus on writing the first in what I’m hoping will be a new series. However, I’m sure he and the team won’t be gone for too long. Best Wishes.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s